FIVE YEARS IN MAIL ART – WHAT’S LEFT? FOR EXAMPLE: GRIGORI ANTONIN

After I had joined the certain mail art platform in February 2010, I became acquainted with some of the members there. Among them was Grigori Antonin, a man from Minneapolis. In summer 2010 he approached me with his his mail art call JEAN GENET 100 YEARS. I did participate and two of my collages were shown in the thin catalog published in the end of that year by the GREAT MIDWESTERN CORRESPUNDANCE SCHOOL PRESS:

005_jiCatalog front cover

006_ji

017_jiCatalog rear cover

A little later, must have been sometime in 2011, the administration of the certain mail art platform to my great surprise founded a group named ERNI BÄR FAN CLUB (EBFC). I repeat here again for all those eventually following the discussion from outside and not having understood yet: I NEITHER EVER ASKED FOR SUCH A GROUP NOR DID I FOUND IT!! Got it dear critizisers? But being in existence anyway I, of course, joined and for some years it became a very lively place of exchange for maybe a dozen active members though many more had joined.

imagesBy now Grigori Antonin had left the platform already. The reasons don’t have to be discussed here and now. But he used playing around with the term and sent things once in a while outing himsels as well as others as big fans:

ENVELOPE REAR

CARDNOTEThere you are!

But the absolute BEST came in 2013! On March 16th I received this package from Minneapolis:

PACKAGE FRONT

PACKAGE REARWonderful and most promising!

BOOK COVERLooks silken and is very smooth to touch! Size: 21 cm x 20,5 cm x 1 cm.

BOOK REARSPINENow have a look at the frontispiece and the pages:

BOOK FRONTISPIECEThis is number one of just five copies. I never knew who received the other four.

PAGES 1-2

PAGES 3-4

PAGES 5-6

PAGES 7-8

PAGES 9-10

PAGES 11-12

PAGES 13-14What a beauty! And an Aktion worth of the great late Joseph Beuys (who had been in Minneapolis for teaching in the 1970s by the way!). Thank you again from here after all those years, Grigori!

10 thoughts on “FIVE YEARS IN MAIL ART – WHAT’S LEFT? FOR EXAMPLE: GRIGORI ANTONIN

  1. Ja Linda. Grigori has been one of the few who remained loyal to me over the years. We’re still swapping mail. This has been among other things I received in February 2015 from him:

    Like

Leave a Reply

